Arizona Car Rental Laws

Arizona Car Rental Laws

Arizona Car Rental Laws

Arizona is a beautiful place to explore with a car. However, before you get the keys and drive away from the agency, you must familiarize yourself with Arizona car rental laws.

As your agency for renting exotic cars, we will explain everything you need to know about renting from a legal perspective.

Let’s see how you can have a smooth and trouble-free experience while renting a car in Arizona.

Arizona Car Rental Laws

The Arizona car retinal laws include both the regulations we, as car renting agencies, must follow and a section about your rights as a renter. Since the rental requirements are important for both pirates, we will start by explaining them.

The state’s legal requirements for renting a car in Arizona are regarding the renters’ driving license and age. If you want to rent an exotic or luxury car with us, our agents will happily answer all your questions about our competitive rates and terms and conditions.


The first requirement in the Arizona car rental laws is for you to have a valid driver’s license. You must provide us with the original documents since we are not allowed to accept photocopies.

The driving license confirms that you are legally allowed to drive the car. It also means you have passed the necessary tests, have driving skills, and know the traffic rules. Additionally, we use the driving permits to verify your identity as a renter. We must know who will drive the vehicle for legal and safety reasons.

If you don’t have a US-issued driver’s license, you can also rent a car in Arizona. However, it is recommended to have an International Driver’s Permit. Besides the driver’s license, we might also ask you to provide additional documentation like your passport and ID card.

Age limit

Generally, you must be at least 18 years old to rent a car in Arizona. However, the age limit might differ from one agency to another. As car rental companies, we can have internal terms and conditions that require the renters to be older than the state law in Arizona. Some agencies only rent their cars to drivers above 21 years, while others don’t allow Arizona car rentals under 25. 

Furthermore, if you are a young driver, you might be subject to an underage renter surcharge. Depending on the service provider, it generally ranges between $20 and $25 per day. We advise always checking the specific age requirements and associated fees with the rental agency before booking a car and making the payment.

Car rental period

According to Arizona car rental laws, you have the right to rent a car for 120 consecutive days or less. The start and end of the car rental period must be included in the rental agreement.

Regarding our obligations, we must have the car ready for use and pick up on the day when the car rental period starts. As for you as a renter, you must return the vehicle on the agreed date.

If you fail to return the car as per the rental agreement, we might charge you a late fee. In addition, if the car isn’t returned within 72 hours of the time written in the rental agreement, the renter can be convicted of a Class 5 felony.

Car Rental Agreement

When you come to us and pick a luxury car, we will give you a written rental agreement to sign. In the rental agreement, you must carefully review the following sections:

  • Details of the renter and agency
  • Vehicle description and details
  • Rental terms
  • Mileage and fuel policy
  • Insurance
  • Fees, including toll prices, cleaning, petrol fees, and late charges
  • Renter’s obligations and restrictions
  • Responsibilities and liabilities
  • Security deposit
  • Emergency contact numbers
  • Existing damage details
  • Insurance protection and liability

Our Rights and Responsibilities as a Car Rental Agency

As a car rental agency based in Arizona, we have the right to set additional rental requirements that are in accordance with state law. 

Right to refuse car renting

For instance, we have the right to check your driving records. We can refuse to lend you the car if you have any recent driving violations. Even if you have a confirmed reservation, you might not get the car if you don’t fulfill the state’s and our rental requirements.


Under the Arizona car rental laws, we might charge additional fees such as:

  • Out-of-state charges
  • Drop-off fees
  • Charges for additional drivers besides the person renting the car
  • Underage fee
  • Early and late return fee
  • Road assistance


Generally, car rentals in Arizona prefer to accept debit or credit cards as a form of payment. They are used as proof you have enough funds to cover your final bill. Only a few car rental companies accept cash.

Most car retail agencies in Arizona work with credit cards as a main payment method. This is because car rental companies might hold or block a higher amount than the one agreed upon. That ensures you, as a renter, have enough money to cover any additional fees that might arise.


As car rental agencies, we typically offer the minimum state-required liability insurance coverage. It covers:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person ($50,000 for two or more persons in one accident).
  • $20,000 in injury to or destruction of property of others.

If you have a private car or homeowner’s insurance, it will be best to inform us about it before renting the car. This is important because some policies have coverage when you are renting a car.

If you don’t have any, we might offer you insurance options for a certain fee. You might want to consider getting the following types of insurance:

  • Accident and health or sickness insurance
  • Liability insurance
  • Vehicle breakdown coverage
  • Physical damage insurance and similar

We will itemize the insurance costs separately in your rental agreement.

Rental vehicle surcharge

According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, we must charge a rental vehicle surcharge. The 5% surcharge is applied to multiple items of the rental contract, such as:

  • The base renting charge
  • Insurance
  • Underage driver charges
  • Additional fuel
  • Drop-off and delivery fees
  • Changing car class
  • GPS and fees for equipment


As a car renter, you must understand the requirements, insurance options, and laws to save yourself from hassles and financial liabilities. Before signing and taking the key to the rental car, ensure you read and understand the obligations and rights in the rental agreement and the agency’s terms and conditions. Now that you know the Arizona car rental laws, you are ready to rent an exotic car from our fleet. Enhance your travel experience in a vehicle with extraordinary performance.

Leave a Reply